aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>2017-12-01 12:10:00 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-12-11 18:41:26 +0100
commit0f7cda2b824bb2afe0d75716a8664117fa03f5e0 (patch)
treecdc07e28d26c4f6aa8a57db99525b29dda0c8419
parent50c4c4e268a2d7a3e58ebb698ac74da0de40ae36 (diff)
Kconfig: Make STRICT_DEVMEM default-y on x86 and arm64
Distros have been shipping with CONFIG_STRICT_DEVMEM=y for years now. It is probably time to flip this default for x86 and arm64. Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171201201000.GA44539@beast Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--lib/Kconfig.debug2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/lib/Kconfig.debug b/lib/Kconfig.debug
index 947d3e2ed5c2..39b123d04a36 100644
--- a/lib/Kconfig.debug
+++ b/lib/Kconfig.debug
@@ -1985,7 +1985,7 @@ config STRICT_DEVMEM
bool "Filter access to /dev/mem"
depends on MMU && DEVMEM
depends on ARCH_HAS_DEVMEM_IS_ALLOWED
- default y if TILE || PPC
+ default y if TILE || PPC || X86 || ARM64
---help---
If this option is disabled, you allow userspace (root) access to all
of memory, including kernel and userspace memory. Accidental

Privacy Policy