aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>2021-03-12 21:08:13 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-03-13 11:27:31 -0800
commitd9b571c885a8974fbb7d4ee639dbc643fd000f9e (patch)
tree77c5581b946212718dc0647ecbb996d4761be7fc
parentf9d79e8dce4077d3c6ab739c808169dfa99af9ef (diff)
kasan: fix KASAN_STACK dependency for HW_TAGS
There's a runtime failure when running HW_TAGS-enabled kernel built with GCC on hardware that doesn't support MTE. GCC-built kernels always have CONFIG_KASAN_STACK enabled, even though stack instrumentation isn't supported by HW_TAGS. Having that config enabled causes KASAN to issue MTE-only instructions to unpoison kernel stacks, which causes the failure. Fix the issue by disallowing CONFIG_KASAN_STACK when HW_TAGS is used. (The commit that introduced CONFIG_KASAN_HW_TAGS specified proper dependency for CONFIG_KASAN_STACK_ENABLE but not for CONFIG_KASAN_STACK.) Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/59e75426241dbb5611277758c8d4d6f5f9298dac.1615215441.git.andreyknvl@google.com Fixes: 6a63a63ff1ac ("kasan: introduce CONFIG_KASAN_HW_TAGS") Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com> Reported-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Marco Elver <elver@google.com> Cc: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com> Cc: Evgenii Stepanov <eugenis@google.com> Cc: Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@arm.com> Cc: Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--lib/Kconfig.kasan1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/lib/Kconfig.kasan b/lib/Kconfig.kasan
index 624ae1df7984..fba9909e31b7 100644
--- a/lib/Kconfig.kasan
+++ b/lib/Kconfig.kasan
@@ -156,6 +156,7 @@ config KASAN_STACK_ENABLE
config KASAN_STACK
int
+ depends on KASAN_GENERIC || KASAN_SW_TAGS
default 1 if KASAN_STACK_ENABLE || CC_IS_GCC
default 0

Privacy Policy