aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/mips
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAnshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>2021-04-29 22:55:15 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-04-30 11:20:36 -0700
commitdce44566192ec0b38597fdfd435013c2d54653ff (patch)
tree05ff6c565da78e8ebe8d333b9b80793c322b02e2 /arch/mips
parentf58bd538e6a2deb2bcdfe527d9ed45643348a4e6 (diff)
mm/memtest: add ARCH_USE_MEMTEST
early_memtest() does not get called from all architectures. Hence enabling CONFIG_MEMTEST and providing a valid memtest=[1..N] kernel command line option might not trigger the memory pattern tests as would be expected in normal circumstances. This situation is misleading. The change here prevents the above mentioned problem after introducing a new config option ARCH_USE_MEMTEST that should be subscribed on platforms that call early_memtest(), in order to enable the config CONFIG_MEMTEST. Conversely CONFIG_MEMTEST cannot be enabled on platforms where it would not be tested anyway. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1617269193-22294-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com> Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> (arm64) Reviewed-by: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/mips')
-rw-r--r--arch/mips/Kconfig1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/mips/Kconfig b/arch/mips/Kconfig
index 702648f60e41..49a3c9cd1cb2 100644
--- a/arch/mips/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/mips/Kconfig
@@ -16,6 +16,7 @@ config MIPS
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_UPROBES
select ARCH_USE_BUILTIN_BSWAP
select ARCH_USE_CMPXCHG_LOCKREF if 64BIT
+ select ARCH_USE_MEMTEST
select ARCH_USE_QUEUED_RWLOCKS
select ARCH_USE_QUEUED_SPINLOCKS
select ARCH_WANT_DEFAULT_TOPDOWN_MMAP_LAYOUT if MMU

Privacy Policy