aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/sh
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>2021-05-06 18:05:55 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-05-07 00:26:34 -0700
commitbbcd53c960713507ae764bf81970651b5577b95a (patch)
treebbd474e3bc30b3dda2dc690195331b7f8f57f47a /arch/sh
parentcb152a1a95606aadd81df7a537dde9ef16da4b80 (diff)
drivers/char: remove /dev/kmem for good
Patch series "drivers/char: remove /dev/kmem for good". Exploring /dev/kmem and /dev/mem in the context of memory hot(un)plug and memory ballooning, I started questioning the existence of /dev/kmem. Comparing it with the /proc/kcore implementation, it does not seem to be able to deal with things like a) Pages unmapped from the direct mapping (e.g., to be used by secretmem) -> kern_addr_valid(). virt_addr_valid() is not sufficient. b) Special cases like gart aperture memory that is not to be touched -> mem_pfn_is_ram() Unless I am missing something, it's at least broken in some cases and might fault/crash the machine. Looks like its existence has been questioned before in 2005 and 2010 [1], after ~11 additional years, it might make sense to revive the discussion. CONFIG_DEVKMEM is only enabled in a single defconfig (on purpose or by mistake?). All distributions disable it: in Ubuntu it has been disabled for more than 10 years, in Debian since 2.6.31, in Fedora at least starting with FC3, in RHEL starting with RHEL4, in SUSE starting from 15sp2, and OpenSUSE has it disabled as well. 1) /dev/kmem was popular for rootkits [2] before it got disabled basically everywhere. Ubuntu documents [3] "There is no modern user of /dev/kmem any more beyond attackers using it to load kernel rootkits.". RHEL documents in a BZ [5] "it served no practical purpose other than to serve as a potential security problem or to enable binary module drivers to access structures/functions they shouldn't be touching" 2) /proc/kcore is a decent interface to have a controlled way to read kernel memory for debugging puposes. (will need some extensions to deal with memory offlining/unplug, memory ballooning, and poisoned pages, though) 3) It might be useful for corner case debugging [1]. KDB/KGDB might be a better fit, especially, to write random memory; harder to shoot yourself into the foot. 4) "Kernel Memory Editor" [4] hasn't seen any updates since 2000 and seems to be incompatible with 64bit [1]. For educational purposes, /proc/kcore might be used to monitor value updates -- or older kernels can be used. 5) It's broken on arm64, and therefore, completely disabled there. Looks like it's essentially unused and has been replaced by better suited interfaces for individual tasks (/proc/kcore, KDB/KGDB). Let's just remove it. [1] https://lwn.net/Articles/147901/ [2] https://www.linuxjournal.com/article/10505 [3] https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Security/Features#A.2Fdev.2Fkmem_disabled [4] https://sourceforge.net/projects/kme/ [5] https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=154796 Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210324102351.6932-1-david@redhat.com Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210324102351.6932-2-david@redhat.com Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: "Alexander A. Klimov" <grandmaster@al2klimov.de> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com> Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> Cc: Andrey Zhizhikin <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@csgroup.eu> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Corentin Labbe <clabbe@baylibre.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@bootlin.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com> Cc: huang ying <huang.ying.caritas@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com> Cc: James Troup <james.troup@canonical.com> Cc: Jiaxun Yang <jiaxun.yang@flygoat.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Kairui Song <kasong@redhat.com> Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org> Cc: Kuninori Morimoto <kuninori.morimoto.gx@renesas.com> Cc: Liviu Dudau <liviu.dudau@arm.com> Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com> Cc: Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@gmail.com> Cc: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org> Cc: Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@redhat.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Niklas Schnelle <schnelle@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Oleksiy Avramchenko <oleksiy.avramchenko@sonymobile.com> Cc: openrisc@lists.librecores.org Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmerdabbelt@google.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: "Pavel Machek (CIP)" <pavel@denx.de> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz> Cc: "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Pierre Morel <pmorel@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Cc: Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com> Cc: Theodore Dubois <tblodt@icloud.com> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> Cc: William Cohen <wcohen@redhat.com> Cc: Xiaoming Ni <nixiaoming@huawei.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sh')
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/configs/edosk7705_defconfig1
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/configs/se7206_defconfig1
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/configs/sh2007_defconfig1
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/configs/sh7724_generic_defconfig1
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/configs/sh7770_generic_defconfig1
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/configs/sh7785lcr_32bit_defconfig1
6 files changed, 0 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/configs/edosk7705_defconfig b/arch/sh/configs/edosk7705_defconfig
index ef7cc31997b1..9ee35269bee2 100644
--- a/arch/sh/configs/edosk7705_defconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/configs/edosk7705_defconfig
@@ -23,7 +23,6 @@ CONFIG_SH_PCLK_FREQ=31250000
# CONFIG_INPUT is not set
# CONFIG_SERIO is not set
# CONFIG_VT is not set
-# CONFIG_DEVKMEM is not set
# CONFIG_UNIX98_PTYS is not set
# CONFIG_LEGACY_PTYS is not set
# CONFIG_HW_RANDOM is not set
diff --git a/arch/sh/configs/se7206_defconfig b/arch/sh/configs/se7206_defconfig
index 315b04a8dd2f..601d062250d1 100644
--- a/arch/sh/configs/se7206_defconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/configs/se7206_defconfig
@@ -71,7 +71,6 @@ CONFIG_SMC91X=y
# CONFIG_INPUT is not set
# CONFIG_SERIO is not set
# CONFIG_VT is not set
-# CONFIG_DEVKMEM is not set
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI=y
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_NR_UARTS=4
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_CONSOLE=y
diff --git a/arch/sh/configs/sh2007_defconfig b/arch/sh/configs/sh2007_defconfig
index 99975db461d8..79f02f1c0dc8 100644
--- a/arch/sh/configs/sh2007_defconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/configs/sh2007_defconfig
@@ -75,7 +75,6 @@ CONFIG_INPUT_FF_MEMLESS=y
# CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSE is not set
# CONFIG_SERIO is not set
CONFIG_VT_HW_CONSOLE_BINDING=y
-# CONFIG_DEVKMEM is not set
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI=y
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_CONSOLE=y
# CONFIG_LEGACY_PTYS is not set
diff --git a/arch/sh/configs/sh7724_generic_defconfig b/arch/sh/configs/sh7724_generic_defconfig
index 2c46c0004780..cbc9389a89a8 100644
--- a/arch/sh/configs/sh7724_generic_defconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/configs/sh7724_generic_defconfig
@@ -18,7 +18,6 @@ CONFIG_CPU_IDLE=y
# CONFIG_INPUT is not set
# CONFIG_SERIO is not set
# CONFIG_VT is not set
-# CONFIG_DEVKMEM is not set
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI=y
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_NR_UARTS=6
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_CONSOLE=y
diff --git a/arch/sh/configs/sh7770_generic_defconfig b/arch/sh/configs/sh7770_generic_defconfig
index 88193153e51b..ee2357deba0f 100644
--- a/arch/sh/configs/sh7770_generic_defconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/configs/sh7770_generic_defconfig
@@ -20,7 +20,6 @@ CONFIG_CPU_IDLE=y
# CONFIG_INPUT is not set
# CONFIG_SERIO is not set
# CONFIG_VT is not set
-# CONFIG_DEVKMEM is not set
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI=y
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_NR_UARTS=6
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_CONSOLE=y
diff --git a/arch/sh/configs/sh7785lcr_32bit_defconfig b/arch/sh/configs/sh7785lcr_32bit_defconfig
index 9b885c14c400..5c725c75fcef 100644
--- a/arch/sh/configs/sh7785lcr_32bit_defconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/configs/sh7785lcr_32bit_defconfig
@@ -66,7 +66,6 @@ CONFIG_INPUT_FF_MEMLESS=m
CONFIG_INPUT_EVDEV=y
CONFIG_INPUT_EVBUG=m
CONFIG_VT_HW_CONSOLE_BINDING=y
-# CONFIG_DEVKMEM is not set
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI=y
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_NR_UARTS=6
CONFIG_SERIAL_SH_SCI_CONSOLE=y

Privacy Policy