aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/certs/blacklist_nohashes.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorShakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>2018-02-21 14:45:28 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-02-21 15:35:42 -0800
commit9c4e6b1a7027f102990c0395296015a812525f4d (patch)
treee95eff50c9b0088c839c5b009d2449c787c0e0dd /certs/blacklist_nohashes.c
parentc3cc39118c3610eb6ab4711bc624af7fc48a35fe (diff)
mm, mlock, vmscan: no more skipping pagevecs
When a thread mlocks an address space backed either by file pages which are currently not present in memory or swapped out anon pages (not in swapcache), a new page is allocated and added to the local pagevec (lru_add_pvec), I/O is triggered and the thread then sleeps on the page. On I/O completion, the thread can wake on a different CPU, the mlock syscall will then sets the PageMlocked() bit of the page but will not be able to put that page in unevictable LRU as the page is on the pagevec of a different CPU. Even on drain, that page will go to evictable LRU because the PageMlocked() bit is not checked on pagevec drain. The page will eventually go to right LRU on reclaim but the LRU stats will remain skewed for a long time. This patch puts all the pages, even unevictable, to the pagevecs and on the drain, the pages will be added on their LRUs correctly by checking their evictability. This resolves the mlocked pages on pagevec of other CPUs issue because when those pagevecs will be drained, the mlocked file pages will go to unevictable LRU. Also this makes the race with munlock easier to resolve because the pagevec drains happen in LRU lock. However there is still one place which makes a page evictable and does PageLRU check on that page without LRU lock and needs special attention. TestClearPageMlocked() and isolate_lru_page() in clear_page_mlock(). #0: __pagevec_lru_add_fn #1: clear_page_mlock SetPageLRU() if (!TestClearPageMlocked()) return smp_mb() // <--required // inside does PageLRU if (!PageMlocked()) if (isolate_lru_page()) move to evictable LRU putback_lru_page() else move to unevictable LRU In '#1', TestClearPageMlocked() provides full memory barrier semantics and thus the PageLRU check (inside isolate_lru_page) can not be reordered before it. In '#0', without explicit memory barrier, the PageMlocked() check can be reordered before SetPageLRU(). If that happens, '#0' can put a page in unevictable LRU and '#1' might have just cleared the Mlocked bit of that page but fails to isolate as PageLRU fails as '#0' still hasn't set PageLRU bit of that page. That page will be stranded on the unevictable LRU. There is one (good) side effect though. Without this patch, the pages allocated for System V shared memory segment are added to evictable LRUs even after shmctl(SHM_LOCK) on that segment. This patch will correctly put such pages to unevictable LRU. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171121211241.18877-1-shakeelb@google.com Signed-off-by: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'certs/blacklist_nohashes.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy