aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/base/core.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>2017-02-24 14:55:48 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-02-24 17:46:53 -0800
commit3fc21924100b13f73c734d0ce8dfcfe913fcf7a8 (patch)
tree3d9f46a4936f591e5e306cf909e44fe6012efe89 /drivers/base/core.c
parentb5d24fda9c3dce51fcb4eee459550a458eaaf1e2 (diff)
mm: validate device_hotplug is held for memory hotplug
mem_hotplug_begin() assumes that it can set mem_hotplug.active_writer and run the hotplug process without racing another thread. Validate this assumption with a lockdep assertion. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/148693886229.16345.1770484669403334689.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Reported-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Masayoshi Mizuma <m.mizuma@jp.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/base/core.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/base/core.c5
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/base/core.c b/drivers/base/core.c
index 8c25e68e67d7..3050e6f99403 100644
--- a/drivers/base/core.c
+++ b/drivers/base/core.c
@@ -638,6 +638,11 @@ int lock_device_hotplug_sysfs(void)
return restart_syscall();
}
+void assert_held_device_hotplug(void)
+{
+ lockdep_assert_held(&device_hotplug_lock);
+}
+
#ifdef CONFIG_BLOCK
static inline int device_is_not_partition(struct device *dev)
{

Privacy Policy