aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/bcma
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLinus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>2015-11-04 09:56:26 +0100
committerLinus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>2015-11-19 09:24:35 +0100
commit58383c78425e4ee1c077253cf297b641c861c02e (patch)
tree606949d2c6db8176c0659eaa935d022bf6d19974 /drivers/bcma
parent8005c49d9aea74d382f474ce11afbbc7d7130bec (diff)
gpio: change member .dev to .parent
The name .dev in a struct is normally reserved for a struct device that is let us say a superclass to the thing described by the struct. struct gpio_chip stands out by confusingly using a struct device *dev to point to the parent device (such as a platform_device) that represents the hardware. As we want to give gpio_chip:s real devices, this is not working. We need to rename this member to parent. This was done by two coccinelle scripts, I guess it is possible to combine them into one, but I don't know such stuff. They look like this: @@ struct gpio_chip *var; @@ -var->dev +var->parent and: @@ struct gpio_chip var; @@ -var.dev +var.parent and: @@ struct bgpio_chip *var; @@ -var->gc.dev +var->gc.parent Plus a few instances of bgpio that I couldn't figure out how to teach Coccinelle to rewrite. This patch hits all over the place, but I *strongly* prefer this solution to any piecemal approaches that just exercise patch mechanics all over the place. It mainly hits drivers/gpio and drivers/pinctrl which is my own backyard anyway. Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Rafał Miłecki <zajec5@gmail.com> Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@osg.samsung.com> Cc: Alek Du <alek.du@intel.com> Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com> Acked-by: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Acked-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org> Acked-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Jacek Anaszewski <j.anaszewski@samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/bcma')
-rw-r--r--drivers/bcma/driver_gpio.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/bcma/driver_gpio.c b/drivers/bcma/driver_gpio.c
index 504899a72966..949754427ce2 100644
--- a/drivers/bcma/driver_gpio.c
+++ b/drivers/bcma/driver_gpio.c
@@ -188,7 +188,7 @@ int bcma_gpio_init(struct bcma_drv_cc *cc)
chip->direction_input = bcma_gpio_direction_input;
chip->direction_output = bcma_gpio_direction_output;
chip->owner = THIS_MODULE;
- chip->dev = bcma_bus_get_host_dev(bus);
+ chip->parent = bcma_bus_get_host_dev(bus);
#if IS_BUILTIN(CONFIG_OF)
if (cc->core->bus->hosttype == BCMA_HOSTTYPE_SOC)
chip->of_node = cc->core->dev.of_node;

Privacy Policy