aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2015-07-30 15:59:57 -0700
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2015-08-05 10:35:49 -0700
commitf368ed6088ae9c1fbe1c897bb5f215ce5e63fa1e (patch)
treea9ed27128f04f21ed0f205ec94a1ad0dbf746bb4 /drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c
parent379e4f756b915bcc35958365e5d1326b3b54efce (diff)
char: make misc_deregister a void function
With well over 200+ users of this api, there are a mere 12 users that actually checked the return value of this function. And all of them really didn't do anything with that information as the system or module was shutting down no matter what. So stop pretending like it matters, and just return void from misc_deregister(). If something goes wrong in the call, you will get a WARNING splat in the syslog so you know how to fix up your driver. Other than that, there's nothing that can go wrong. Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.com> Cc: Oleg Drokin <oleg.drokin@intel.com> Cc: Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@intel.com> Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com> Cc: Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be> Cc: Christine Caulfield <ccaulfie@redhat.com> Cc: David Teigland <teigland@redhat.com> Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com> Acked-by: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org> Acked-by: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@free-electrons.com> Acked-by: Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it> Acked-by: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c7
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c b/drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c
index a721b5d8a9da..9ec262a52656 100644
--- a/drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c
+++ b/drivers/misc/vmw_vmci/vmci_host.c
@@ -1031,14 +1031,9 @@ int __init vmci_host_init(void)
void __exit vmci_host_exit(void)
{
- int error;
-
vmci_host_device_initialized = false;
- error = misc_deregister(&vmci_host_miscdev);
- if (error)
- pr_warn("Error unregistering character device: %d\n", error);
-
+ misc_deregister(&vmci_host_miscdev);
vmci_ctx_destroy(host_context);
vmci_qp_broker_exit();

Privacy Policy