aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>2015-07-24 08:12:54 +0200
committerZhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>2015-08-03 23:15:50 +0800
commit17e8351a77397e8a83727eb17e3a3e9b8ab5257a (patch)
tree9087ea501d32baa56842d112c071cbe57eede870 /drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c
parent25a0a5ce16ecd7e60c4cf1436892433873e9d99d (diff)
thermal: consistently use int for temperatures
The thermal code uses int, long and unsigned long for temperatures in different places. Using an unsigned type limits the thermal framework to positive temperatures without need. Also several drivers currently will report temperatures near UINT_MAX for temperatures below 0°C. This will probably immediately shut the machine down due to overtemperature if started below 0°C. 'long' is 64bit on several architectures. This is not needed since INT_MAX °mC is above the melting point of all known materials. Consistently use a plain 'int' for temperatures throughout the thermal code and the drivers. This only changes the places in the drivers where the temperature is passed around as pointer, when drivers internally use another type this is not changed. Signed-off-by: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de> Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be> Reviewed-by: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de> Reviewed-by: Lukasz Majewski <l.majewski@samsung.com> Reviewed-by: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de> Reviewed-by: Peter Feuerer <peter@piie.net> Cc: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com> Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@gmail.com> Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de> Cc: Peter Feuerer <peter@piie.net> Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de> Cc: Lukasz Majewski <l.majewski@samsung.com> Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com> Cc: linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org Cc: platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-omap@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com> Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org> Cc: lm-sensors@lm-sensors.org Signed-off-by: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c13
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c b/drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c
index 4434ec812cb7..5ed90e6c8a64 100644
--- a/drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c
+++ b/drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c
@@ -186,7 +186,7 @@ static int soc_dts_disable(struct thermal_zone_device *tzd)
return ret;
}
-static int _get_trip_temp(int trip, unsigned long *temp)
+static int _get_trip_temp(int trip, int *temp)
{
int status;
u32 out;
@@ -212,19 +212,18 @@ static int _get_trip_temp(int trip, unsigned long *temp)
}
static inline int sys_get_trip_temp(struct thermal_zone_device *tzd,
- int trip, unsigned long *temp)
+ int trip, int *temp)
{
return _get_trip_temp(trip, temp);
}
-static inline int sys_get_crit_temp(struct thermal_zone_device *tzd,
- unsigned long *temp)
+static inline int sys_get_crit_temp(struct thermal_zone_device *tzd, int *temp)
{
return _get_trip_temp(QRK_DTS_ID_TP_CRITICAL, temp);
}
static int update_trip_temp(struct soc_sensor_entry *aux_entry,
- int trip, unsigned long temp)
+ int trip, int temp)
{
u32 out;
u32 temp_out;
@@ -272,7 +271,7 @@ failed:
}
static inline int sys_set_trip_temp(struct thermal_zone_device *tzd, int trip,
- unsigned long temp)
+ int temp)
{
return update_trip_temp(tzd->devdata, trip, temp);
}
@@ -289,7 +288,7 @@ static int sys_get_trip_type(struct thermal_zone_device *thermal,
}
static int sys_get_curr_temp(struct thermal_zone_device *tzd,
- unsigned long *temp)
+ int *temp)
{
u32 out;
int ret;

Privacy Policy