aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/fs
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>2019-09-23 15:38:37 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-09-24 15:54:11 -0700
commit649775be63c8b2e0b56ecc5bbc96d38205ec5259 (patch)
tree3f27e84d177715016de872a77f881a5a50807376 /fs
parentf385cb85a42fc4ba92464c2bfd2e2049d65353d3 (diff)
mm, fs: move randomize_stack_top from fs to mm
Patch series "Provide generic top-down mmap layout functions", v6. This series introduces generic functions to make top-down mmap layout easily accessible to architectures, in particular riscv which was the initial goal of this series. The generic implementation was taken from arm64 and used successively by arm, mips and finally riscv. Note that in addition the series fixes 2 issues: - stack randomization was taken into account even if not necessary. - [1] fixed an issue with mmap base which did not take into account randomization but did not report it to arm and mips, so by moving arm64 into a generic library, this problem is now fixed for both architectures. This work is an effort to factorize architecture functions to avoid code duplication and oversights as in [1]. [1]: https://www.mail-archive.com/linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org/msg1429066.html This patch (of 14): This preparatory commit moves this function so that further introduction of generic topdown mmap layout is contained only in mm/util.c. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190730055113.23635-2-alex@ghiti.fr Signed-off-by: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Reviewed-by: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'fs')
-rw-r--r--fs/binfmt_elf.c20
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 20 deletions
diff --git a/fs/binfmt_elf.c b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
index d4e11b2e04f6..cec3b4146440 100644
--- a/fs/binfmt_elf.c
+++ b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
@@ -670,26 +670,6 @@ out:
* libraries. There is no binary dependent code anywhere else.
*/
-#ifndef STACK_RND_MASK
-#define STACK_RND_MASK (0x7ff >> (PAGE_SHIFT - 12)) /* 8MB of VA */
-#endif
-
-static unsigned long randomize_stack_top(unsigned long stack_top)
-{
- unsigned long random_variable = 0;
-
- if (current->flags & PF_RANDOMIZE) {
- random_variable = get_random_long();
- random_variable &= STACK_RND_MASK;
- random_variable <<= PAGE_SHIFT;
- }
-#ifdef CONFIG_STACK_GROWSUP
- return PAGE_ALIGN(stack_top) + random_variable;
-#else
- return PAGE_ALIGN(stack_top) - random_variable;
-#endif
-}
-
static int load_elf_binary(struct linux_binprm *bprm)
{
struct file *interpreter = NULL; /* to shut gcc up */

Privacy Policy