aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/trace
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>2015-11-05 18:48:02 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-11-05 19:34:48 -0800
commit2d1e10412c2388ff9b6afc60536eaa195a419289 (patch)
treeb1a4d9b145a9c4442e51141b9fa17d25d8fa90fb /include/trace
parent1743d0506003f7db0602d120ecf63e2747af0d72 (diff)
mm, compaction: distinguish contended status in tracepoints
Compaction returns prematurely with COMPACT_PARTIAL when contended or has fatal signal pending. This is ok for the callers, but might be misleading in the traces, as the usual reason to return COMPACT_PARTIAL is that we think the allocation should succeed. After this patch we distinguish the premature ending condition in the mm_compaction_finished and mm_compaction_end tracepoints. The contended status covers the following reasons: - lock contention or need_resched() detected in async compaction - fatal signal pending - too many pages isolated in the zone (only for async compaction) Further distinguishing the exact reason seems unnecessary for now. Signed-off-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/trace')
-rw-r--r--include/trace/events/compaction.h3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/include/trace/events/compaction.h b/include/trace/events/compaction.h
index a43000d76688..c92d1e1cbad9 100644
--- a/include/trace/events/compaction.h
+++ b/include/trace/events/compaction.h
@@ -16,7 +16,8 @@
EM( COMPACT_PARTIAL, "partial") \
EM( COMPACT_COMPLETE, "complete") \
EM( COMPACT_NO_SUITABLE_PAGE, "no_suitable_page") \
- EMe(COMPACT_NOT_SUITABLE_ZONE, "not_suitable_zone")
+ EM( COMPACT_NOT_SUITABLE_ZONE, "not_suitable_zone") \
+ EMe(COMPACT_CONTENDED, "contended")
#ifdef CONFIG_ZONE_DMA
#define IFDEF_ZONE_DMA(X) X

Privacy Policy