aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/uapi/linux
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>2018-01-29 15:20:12 -0500
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-02-05 21:34:21 +0100
commit306e060435d7a3aef8f6f033e43b0f581638adce (patch)
tree3d0f374587bcfbe077a66e681af6edba0ececb22 /include/uapi/linux
parent3ccfebedd8cf54e291c809c838d8ad5cc00f5688 (diff)
membarrier: Document scheduler barrier requirements
Document the membarrier requirement on having a full memory barrier in __schedule() after coming from user-space, before storing to rq->curr. It is provided by smp_mb__after_spinlock() in __schedule(). Document that membarrier requires a full barrier on transition from kernel thread to userspace thread. We currently have an implicit barrier from atomic_dec_and_test() in mmdrop() that ensures this. The x86 switch_mm_irqs_off() full barrier is currently provided by many cpumask update operations as well as write_cr3(). Document that write_cr3() provides this barrier. Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com> Cc: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@scylladb.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Cc: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com> Cc: David Sehr <sehr@google.com> Cc: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Maged Michael <maged.michael@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180129202020.8515-4-mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/uapi/linux')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy