aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init/version.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMasahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>2021-02-25 17:22:11 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-02-26 09:41:04 -0800
commit073a9ecb3a73401662430bb955aedeac1de643d1 (patch)
treec181e1854d2d9c3c9c75ccfc0ad40c0f1d985173 /init/version.c
parent5b8f82e1a17695c9e5fec5842b234967782d7e5b (diff)
init/version.c: remove Version_<LINUX_VERSION_CODE> symbol
This code hunk creates a Version_<LINUX_VERSION_CODE> symbol if CONFIG_KALLSYMS is disabled. For example, building the kernel v5.10 for allnoconfig creates the following symbol: $ nm vmlinux | grep Version_ c116b028 B Version_330240 There is no in-tree user of this symbol. Commit 197dcffc8ba0 ("init/version.c: define version_string only if CONFIG_KALLSYMS is not defined") mentions that Version_* is only used with ksymoops. However, a commit in the pre-git era [1] had added the statement, "ksymoops is useless on 2.6. Please use the Oops in its original format". That statement existed until commit 4eb9241127a0 ("Documentation: admin-guide: update bug-hunting.rst") finally removed the stale ksymoops information. This symbol is no longer needed. [1] https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/history/history.git/commit/?id=ad68b2f085f5c79e4759ca2d13947b3c885ee831 Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210120033452.2895170-1-masahiroy@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Daniel Guilak <guilak@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Lee Revell <rlrevell@joe-job.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init/version.c')
-rw-r--r--init/version.c8
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/init/version.c b/init/version.c
index 80d2b7566b39..92afc782b043 100644
--- a/init/version.c
+++ b/init/version.c
@@ -16,14 +16,6 @@
#include <linux/version.h>
#include <linux/proc_ns.h>
-#ifndef CONFIG_KALLSYMS
-#define version(a) Version_ ## a
-#define version_string(a) version(a)
-
-extern int version_string(LINUX_VERSION_CODE);
-int version_string(LINUX_VERSION_CODE);
-#endif
-
struct uts_namespace init_uts_ns = {
.ns.count = REFCOUNT_INIT(2),
.name = {

Privacy Policy