aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPatrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com>2019-08-22 14:28:06 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-09-03 09:17:37 +0200
commit2480c093130f64ac3a410504fa8b3db1fc4b87ce (patch)
tree1dbeca7920dfcadd75249ab41de421bbb2a3ad85 /init
parenta55c7454a8c887b226a01d7eed088ccb5374d81e (diff)
sched/uclamp: Extend CPU's cgroup controller
The cgroup CPU bandwidth controller allows to assign a specified (maximum) bandwidth to the tasks of a group. However this bandwidth is defined and enforced only on a temporal base, without considering the actual frequency a CPU is running on. Thus, the amount of computation completed by a task within an allocated bandwidth can be very different depending on the actual frequency the CPU is running that task. The amount of computation can be affected also by the specific CPU a task is running on, especially when running on asymmetric capacity systems like Arm's big.LITTLE. With the availability of schedutil, the scheduler is now able to drive frequency selections based on actual task utilization. Moreover, the utilization clamping support provides a mechanism to bias the frequency selection operated by schedutil depending on constraints assigned to the tasks currently RUNNABLE on a CPU. Giving the mechanisms described above, it is now possible to extend the cpu controller to specify the minimum (or maximum) utilization which should be considered for tasks RUNNABLE on a cpu. This makes it possible to better defined the actual computational power assigned to task groups, thus improving the cgroup CPU bandwidth controller which is currently based just on time constraints. Extend the CPU controller with a couple of new attributes uclamp.{min,max} which allow to enforce utilization boosting and capping for all the tasks in a group. Specifically: - uclamp.min: defines the minimum utilization which should be considered i.e. the RUNNABLE tasks of this group will run at least at a minimum frequency which corresponds to the uclamp.min utilization - uclamp.max: defines the maximum utilization which should be considered i.e. the RUNNABLE tasks of this group will run up to a maximum frequency which corresponds to the uclamp.max utilization These attributes: a) are available only for non-root nodes, both on default and legacy hierarchies, while system wide clamps are defined by a generic interface which does not depends on cgroups. This system wide interface enforces constraints on tasks in the root node. b) enforce effective constraints at each level of the hierarchy which are a restriction of the group requests considering its parent's effective constraints. Root group effective constraints are defined by the system wide interface. This mechanism allows each (non-root) level of the hierarchy to: - request whatever clamp values it would like to get - effectively get only up to the maximum amount allowed by its parent c) have higher priority than task-specific clamps, defined via sched_setattr(), thus allowing to control and restrict task requests. Add two new attributes to the cpu controller to collect "requested" clamp values. Allow that at each non-root level of the hierarchy. Keep it simple by not caring now about "effective" values computation and propagation along the hierarchy. Update sysctl_sched_uclamp_handler() to use the newly introduced uclamp_mutex so that we serialize system default updates with cgroup relate updates. Signed-off-by: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Reviewed-by: Michal Koutny <mkoutny@suse.com> Acked-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Alessio Balsini <balsini@android.com> Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com> Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com> Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Quentin Perret <quentin.perret@arm.com> Cc: Rafael J . Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: Steve Muckle <smuckle@google.com> Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org> Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190822132811.31294-2-patrick.bellasi@arm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/Kconfig22
1 files changed, 22 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index bd7d650d4a99..ac285cfa78b6 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -928,6 +928,28 @@ config RT_GROUP_SCHED
endif #CGROUP_SCHED
+config UCLAMP_TASK_GROUP
+ bool "Utilization clamping per group of tasks"
+ depends on CGROUP_SCHED
+ depends on UCLAMP_TASK
+ default n
+ help
+ This feature enables the scheduler to track the clamped utilization
+ of each CPU based on RUNNABLE tasks currently scheduled on that CPU.
+
+ When this option is enabled, the user can specify a min and max
+ CPU bandwidth which is allowed for each single task in a group.
+ The max bandwidth allows to clamp the maximum frequency a task
+ can use, while the min bandwidth allows to define a minimum
+ frequency a task will always use.
+
+ When task group based utilization clamping is enabled, an eventually
+ specified task-specific clamp value is constrained by the cgroup
+ specified clamp value. Both minimum and maximum task clamping cannot
+ be bigger than the corresponding clamping defined at task group level.
+
+ If in doubt, say N.
+
config CGROUP_PIDS
bool "PIDs controller"
help

Privacy Policy