aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com>2021-02-25 17:22:42 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-02-26 09:41:05 -0800
commit6aaa31aeb9cf260e1b7155cc11ec864f052db5ec (patch)
tree4546f94fd7723de6c3c700b0eac658e910c63e30 /init
parentd54ce6158e354f5358a547b96299ecd7f3725393 (diff)
ubsan: remove overflow checks
Since GCC 8.0 -fsanitize=signed-integer-overflow doesn't work with -fwrapv. -fwrapv makes signed overflows defines and GCC essentially disables ubsan checks. On GCC < 8.0 -fwrapv doesn't have influence on -fsanitize=signed-integer-overflow setting, so it kinda works but generates false-positves and violates uaccess rules: lib/iov_iter.o: warning: objtool: iovec_from_user()+0x22d: call to __ubsan_handle_add_overflow() with UACCESS enabled Disable signed overflow checks to avoid these problems. Remove unsigned overflow checks as well. Unsigned overflow appeared as side effect of commit cdf8a76fda4a ("ubsan: move cc-option tests into Kconfig"), but it never worked (kernel doesn't boot). And unsigned overflows are allowed by C standard, so it just pointless. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210209232348.20510-1-ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy