aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>2021-02-05 22:00:12 +0000
committerDaniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>2021-02-16 09:59:41 +0100
commitbfe3911a91047557eb0e620f95a370aee6a248c7 (patch)
tree6c6ebd4ca25f09ece5d55ce0c186a026b0d37509 /init
parentf40ddce88593482919761f74910f42f4b84c004b (diff)
kcmp: Support selection of SYS_kcmp without CHECKPOINT_RESTORE
Userspace has discovered the functionality offered by SYS_kcmp and has started to depend upon it. In particular, Mesa uses SYS_kcmp for os_same_file_description() in order to identify when two fd (e.g. device or dmabuf) point to the same struct file. Since they depend on it for core functionality, lift SYS_kcmp out of the non-default CONFIG_CHECKPOINT_RESTORE into the selectable syscall category. Rasmus Villemoes also pointed out that systemd uses SYS_kcmp to deduplicate the per-service file descriptor store. Note that some distributions such as Ubuntu are already enabling CHECKPOINT_RESTORE in their configs and so, by extension, SYS_kcmp. References: https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/drm/intel/-/issues/3046 Signed-off-by: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@gmail.com> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch> Cc: Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de> Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> # DRM depends on kcmp Acked-by: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> # systemd uses kcmp Reviewed-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20210205220012.1983-1-chris@chris-wilson.co.uk
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/Kconfig11
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index 29ad68325028..b7d3c6a12196 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -1193,6 +1193,7 @@ endif # NAMESPACES
config CHECKPOINT_RESTORE
bool "Checkpoint/restore support"
select PROC_CHILDREN
+ select KCMP
default n
help
Enables additional kernel features in a sake of checkpoint/restore.
@@ -1736,6 +1737,16 @@ config ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_CALLBACKS
config ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_SYNC_CORE
bool
+config KCMP
+ bool "Enable kcmp() system call" if EXPERT
+ help
+ Enable the kernel resource comparison system call. It provides
+ user-space with the ability to compare two processes to see if they
+ share a common resource, such as a file descriptor or even virtual
+ memory space.
+
+ If unsure, say N.
+
config RSEQ
bool "Enable rseq() system call" if EXPERT
default y

Privacy Policy