aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/Makefile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLuis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org>2017-09-08 16:17:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-09-08 18:26:50 -0700
commit235586939d7fe4833ada9e988f92af543ee6851f (patch)
treeac8bc93c27be74fc5a9b9cdefc5186ec702c82dd /kernel/Makefile
parent52c270d358b636d332114ac31e572970c5d0c4df (diff)
kmod: split out umh code into its own file
Patch series "kmod: few code cleanups to split out umh code" The usermode helper has a provenance from the old usb code which first required a usermode helper. Eventually this was shoved into kmod.c and the kernel's modprobe calls was converted over eventually to share the same code. Over time the list of usermode helpers in the kernel has grown -- so kmod is just but one user of the API. This series is a simple logical cleanup which acknowledges the code evolution of the usermode helper and shoves the UMH API into its own dedicated file. This way users of the API can later just include umh.h instead of kmod.h. Note despite the diff state the first patch really is just a code shove, no functional changes are done there. I did use git format-patch -M to generate the patch, but in the end the split was not enough for git to consider it a rename hence the large diffstat. I've put this through 0-day and it gives me their machine compilation blessings with all tests as OK. This patch (of 4): There's a slew of usermode helper users and kmod is just one of them. Split out the usermode helper code into its own file to keep the logic and focus split up. This change provides no functional changes. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170810180618.22457-2-mcgrof@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> Cc: Jessica Yu <jeyu@redhat.com> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Matt Redfearn <matt.redfearn@imgtec.com> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com> Cc: Daniel Mentz <danielmentz@google.com> Cc: David Binderman <dcb314@hotmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/Makefile')
-rw-r--r--kernel/Makefile2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/Makefile b/kernel/Makefile
index 9c323a6daa46..44abbb0104b6 100644
--- a/kernel/Makefile
+++ b/kernel/Makefile
@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
obj-y = fork.o exec_domain.o panic.o \
cpu.o exit.o softirq.o resource.o \
sysctl.o sysctl_binary.o capability.o ptrace.o user.o \
- signal.o sys.o kmod.o workqueue.o pid.o task_work.o \
+ signal.o sys.o umh.o kmod.o workqueue.o pid.o task_work.o \
extable.o params.o \
kthread.o sys_ni.o nsproxy.o \
notifier.o ksysfs.o cred.o reboot.o \

Privacy Policy