aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/lib
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorYury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com>2021-05-06 18:03:11 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-05-06 19:24:12 -0700
commit277a20a498d30753f5d8a607dbf967bc163552c1 (patch)
tree0da13bba918e56b385cf362b9775c23039b39c16 /lib
parentea81c1ef441733ee779d776292d6269a97c5d2e1 (diff)
lib: add fast path for find_next_*_bit()
Similarly to bitmap functions, find_next_*_bit() users will benefit if we'll handle a case of bitmaps that fit into a single word inline. In the very best case, the compiler may replace a function call with a few instructions. This is the quite typical find_next_bit() user: unsigned int cpumask_next(int n, const struct cpumask *srcp) { /* -1 is a legal arg here. */ if (n != -1) cpumask_check(n); return find_next_bit(cpumask_bits(srcp), nr_cpumask_bits, n + 1); } EXPORT_SYMBOL(cpumask_next); Currently, on ARM64 the generated code looks like this: 0000000000000000 <cpumask_next>: 0: a9bf7bfd stp x29, x30, [sp, #-16]! 4: 11000402 add w2, w0, #0x1 8: aa0103e0 mov x0, x1 c: d2800401 mov x1, #0x40 // #64 10: 910003fd mov x29, sp 14: 93407c42 sxtw x2, w2 18: 94000000 bl 0 <find_next_bit> 1c: a8c17bfd ldp x29, x30, [sp], #16 20: d65f03c0 ret 24: d503201f nop After applying this patch: 0000000000000140 <cpumask_next>: 140: 11000400 add w0, w0, #0x1 144: 93407c00 sxtw x0, w0 148: f100fc1f cmp x0, #0x3f 14c: 54000168 b.hi 178 <cpumask_next+0x38> // b.pmore 150: f9400023 ldr x3, [x1] 154: 92800001 mov x1, #0xffffffffffffffff // #-1 158: 9ac02020 lsl x0, x1, x0 15c: 52800802 mov w2, #0x40 // #64 160: 8a030001 and x1, x0, x3 164: dac00020 rbit x0, x1 168: f100003f cmp x1, #0x0 16c: dac01000 clz x0, x0 170: 1a800040 csel w0, w2, w0, eq // eq = none 174: d65f03c0 ret 178: 52800800 mov w0, #0x40 // #64 17c: d65f03c0 ret find_next_bit() call is replaced with 6 instructions. find_next_bit() itself is 41 instructions plus function call overhead. Despite inlining, the scripts/bloat-o-meter report smaller .text size after applying the series: add/remove: 11/9 grow/shrink: 233/176 up/down: 5780/-6768 (-988) Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210401003153.97325-10-yury.norov@gmail.com Signed-off-by: Yury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com> Acked-by: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> Acked-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com> Cc: Alexey Klimov <aklimov@redhat.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Jianpeng Ma <jianpeng.ma@intel.com> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Cc: John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Stefano Brivio <sbrivio@redhat.com> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com> Cc: Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.osdn.me> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy