aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/thermal/intel_quark_dts_thermal.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2015-12-09x86/platform/iosf_mbi: Remove duplicate definitionsAndy Shevchenko1-31/+30
The read and write opcodes are global for all units on SoC and even across Intel SoCs. Remove duplication of corresponding constants. At the same time convert all current users. No functional change. Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: Boon Leong Ong <boon.leong.ong@intel.com> Acked-by: Jacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
2015-08-03thermal: consistently use int for temperaturesSascha Hauer1-7/+6
The thermal code uses int, long and unsigned long for temperatures in different places. Using an unsigned type limits the thermal framework to positive temperatures without need. Also several drivers currently will report temperatures near UINT_MAX for temperatures below 0°C. This will probably immediately shut the machine down due to overtemperature if started below 0°C. 'long' is 64bit on several architectures. This is not needed since INT_MAX °mC is above the melting point of all known materials. Consistently use a plain 'int' for temperatures throughout the thermal code and the drivers. This only changes the places in the drivers where the temperature is passed around as pointer, when drivers internally use another type this is not changed. Signed-off-by: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de> Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be> Reviewed-by: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de> Reviewed-by: Lukasz Majewski <l.majewski@samsung.com> Reviewed-by: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de> Reviewed-by: Peter Feuerer <peter@piie.net> Cc: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com> Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com> Cc: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@gmail.com> Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de> Cc: Peter Feuerer <peter@piie.net> Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de> Cc: Lukasz Majewski <l.majewski@samsung.com> Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com> Cc: linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org Cc: platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-omap@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com> Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org> Cc: lm-sensors@lm-sensors.org Signed-off-by: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
2015-05-01thermal: intel Quark SoC X1000 DTS thermal driverOng, Boon Leong1-0/+473
In Intel Quark SoC X1000, there is one on-die digital temperature sensor(DTS). The DTS offers both hot & critical trip points. However, in current distribution of UEFI BIOS for Quark platform, only critical trip point is configured to be 105 degree Celsius (based on Quark SW ver1.0.1 and hot trip point is not used due to lack of IRQ. There is no active cooling device for Quark SoC, so Quark SoC thermal management logic expects Linux distro to orderly power-off when temperature of the DTS exceeds the configured critical trip point. Kernel param "polling_delay" in milliseconds is used to control the frequency the DTS temperature is read by thermal framework. It defaults to 2-second. To change it, use kernel boot param "intel_quark_dts_thermal.polling_delay=X". User interacts with Quark SoC DTS thermal driver through sysfs via: /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/ For example: - to read DTS temperature $ cat temp - to read critical trip point $ cat trip_point_0_temp - to read trip point type $ cat trip_point_0_type - to emulate temperature raise to test orderly shutdown by Linux distro $ echo 105 > emul_temp Tested-by: Bryan O'Donoghue <pure.logic@nexus-software.ie> Signed-off-by: Ong Boon Leong <boon.leong.ong@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Bryan O'Donoghue <pure.logic@nexus-software.ie> Reviewed-by: Kweh, Hock Leong <hock.leong.kweh@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>

Privacy Policy