aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/asm-generic/early_ioremap.h
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2015-09-08Merge branch 'akpm' (patches from Andrew)Linus Torvalds1-0/+6
Merge second patch-bomb from Andrew Morton: "Almost all of the rest of MM. There was an unusually large amount of MM material this time" * emailed patches from Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>: (141 commits) zpool: remove no-op module init/exit mm: zbud: constify the zbud_ops mm: zpool: constify the zpool_ops mm: swap: zswap: maybe_preload & refactoring zram: unify error reporting zsmalloc: remove null check from destroy_handle_cache() zsmalloc: do not take class lock in zs_shrinker_count() zsmalloc: use class->pages_per_zspage zsmalloc: consider ZS_ALMOST_FULL as migrate source zsmalloc: partial page ordering within a fullness_list zsmalloc: use shrinker to trigger auto-compaction zsmalloc: account the number of compacted pages zsmalloc/zram: introduce zs_pool_stats api zsmalloc: cosmetic compaction code adjustments zsmalloc: introduce zs_can_compact() function zsmalloc: always keep per-class stats zsmalloc: drop unused variable `nr_to_migrate' mm/memblock.c: fix comment in __next_mem_range() mm/page_alloc.c: fix type information of memoryless node memory-hotplug: fix comments in zone_spanned_pages_in_node() and zone_spanned_pages_in_node() ...
2015-09-08mm: add utility for early copy from unmapped ramMark Salter1-0/+6
When booting an arm64 kernel w/initrd using UEFI/grub, use of mem= will likely cut off part or all of the initrd. This leaves it outside the kernel linear map which leads to failure when unpacking. The x86 code has a similar need to relocate an initrd outside of mapped memory in some cases. The current x86 code uses early_memremap() to copy the original initrd from unmapped to mapped RAM. This patchset creates a generic copy_from_early_mem() utility based on that x86 code and has arm64 and x86 share it in their respective initrd relocation code. This patch (of 3): In some early boot circumstances, it may be necessary to copy from RAM outside the kernel linear mapping to mapped RAM. The need to relocate an initrd is one example in the x86 code. This patch creates a helper function based on current x86 code. Signed-off-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2015-08-20mm: provide early_memremap_ro to establish read-only mappingJuergen Gross1-0/+2
During early boot as Xen pv domain the kernel needs to map some page tables supplied by the hypervisor read only. This is needed to be able to relocate some data structures conflicting with the physical memory map especially on systems with huge RAM (above 512GB). Provide the function early_memremap_ro() to provide this read only mapping. Signed-off-by: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <Konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Signed-off-by: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
2014-04-07mm: create generic early_ioremap() supportMark Salter1-0/+42
This patch creates a generic implementation of early_ioremap() support based on the existing x86 implementation. early_ioremp() is useful for early boot code which needs to temporarily map I/O or memory regions before normal mapping functions such as ioremap() are available. Some architectures have optional MMU. In the no-MMU case, the remap functions simply return the passed in physical address and the unmap functions do nothing. Signed-off-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Acked-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com> Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

Privacy Policy