aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/debug
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>2016-02-17 14:41:13 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-02-22 08:51:37 +0100
commitd2aa1acad22f1bdd0cfa67b3861800e392254454 (patch)
tree1f3b88086e364e87714dfcaeb66add3bbca81800 /kernel/debug
parente267d97b83d9cecc16c54825f9f3ac7f72dc1e1e (diff)
mm/init: Add 'rodata=off' boot cmdline parameter to disable read-only kernel mappings
It may be useful to debug writes to the readonly sections of memory, so provide a cmdline "rodata=off" to allow for this. This can be expanded in the future to support "log" and "write" modes, but that will need to be architecture-specific. This also makes KDB software breakpoints more usable, as read-only mappings can now be disabled on any kernel. Suggested-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: David Brown <david.brown@linaro.org> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: Emese Revfy <re.emese@gmail.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mathias Krause <minipli@googlemail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: PaX Team <pageexec@freemail.hu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Cc: linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1455748879-21872-3-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/debug')
-rw-r--r--kernel/debug/kdb/kdb_bp.c4
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/debug/kdb/kdb_bp.c b/kernel/debug/kdb/kdb_bp.c
index e1dbf4a2c69e..90ff129c88a2 100644
--- a/kernel/debug/kdb/kdb_bp.c
+++ b/kernel/debug/kdb/kdb_bp.c
@@ -153,13 +153,11 @@ static int _kdb_bp_install(struct pt_regs *regs, kdb_bp_t *bp)
} else {
kdb_printf("%s: failed to set breakpoint at 0x%lx\n",
__func__, bp->bp_addr);
-#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA
if (!bp->bp_type) {
kdb_printf("Software breakpoints are unavailable.\n"
- " Change the kernel CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA=n\n"
+ " Boot the kernel with rodata=off\n"
" OR use hw breaks: help bph\n");
}
-#endif
return 1;
}
return 0;

Privacy Policy